Cosby Was Right


 

 

 

cayennepepper5

Children can be precocious. I think I am using that word right. I need one of those word of the day calendars. You know the ones? Gives you a new word every day and the definition so you can supplement your vocabulary and not look like you dropped out of school right after you finished learning all the swear words in the English language. But I digress…

 

My youngest daughter will be 8 years old in a couple months. I was preparing my lunch in the kitchen and minding my own business. She came bounding in, happy as a lark. She wanted to take her vitamin for the day and being a big girl she didn’t need anyone’s help doing it. She got right to work locating the bottle of Vita-Chewies and digging a couple out with her tiny fingers.

 

“Need some help?” I asked.

 

“Nope.” She continued to dig. “Whatcha doing?”

 

“I’m making my lunch.”

 

“What is that?” She squinted her eyes and sneered while pointing in the general direction of my victuals.

 

“This? It’s Cayenne Pepper,” I said. “You want some?”

 

“Um. No.” She gave me the “Not No But Hell No” look.

 

“But it’s good! It’s got vitamins in it,” I teased.

 

“Yeah Dad? You know what else has vitamins in it?”

 

It was my turn to squint. I cocked my head inquisitively and asked, “No, what?”

 

“Vitamins.”

 

Dumbfounded I stood there and watched her pop the vitamins in her mouth and skip past me out of the kitchen.

 

Touché, tiny comedienne, touché.